Bearing Fruit

Again, before I begin writing, I would like to apologize for my absence again. I haven’t posted in just over a month. I was extremely busy with preparing to leave Austria for a home visit, and now since the end of October until this Tuesday morning, I’ll be in America. I had a blessed time in Chicago (my home town) for two and a half weeks and now I’ve been in Portland for a week and a half. Now I’m just getting ready to go back to my ministries in Austria and get settled back in my home away from home.

Today I want to share with you all an idea that’s been on my heart for a while now because I know it’s been the Holy Ghost’s conviction upon my life. In recent weeks, I’ve been hearing a gentle whisper asking me “Jason, what fruit do you bear?”. Other times I heard “Do you practice what you preach?”. And over and over I heard a similar question in my mind that led me to understand first of all, this IS the Holy Spirit speaking conviction upon me, and secondly I really need to be more aware of my actions, thoughts, words, and surroundings. I really need to step it up, in other words I really need to bear fruit that I speak about.

I don’t want to write to much for the sake of those who don’t like reading a lot. But I do want to say that as Christians we really must check ourselves daily. As I said earlier, the reason this has been on my heart is that I have been hearing the gentle whisper of the Spirit of God in my life. This voice, this hearing that I speak of, is one that we all must hear as Christians. If we can’t hear it, there is something wrong with out lifestyle, with our hearts, and ultimately we are separated from our Father because of nothing else other than sin.

Jesus said in John 15:5:

“5. I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.”

We must understand that without Him, we don’t bear fruit, we can’t bear fruit. and in Matthew 3:8 and 3:10, John the Baptist tells us this:

“8. Therefore bear fruits worthy of repentance,”
“10. And even now the ax is laid to the root of the trees. Therefore every tree which does not bear fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.”

These powerful truths need to be enough for us as Christians to realize where we are in the wrong and that we must pick ourselves back up from the ground and continue to move forward with our Father and Friend. Don’t let the guilt-trip of Satan hold you back. Don’t let your own condemnation keep you down. Remember that condemnation is from Satan but conviction comes from the Holy Spirit.

If we do not bear fruit, we will be cut off from the root. We will be thrown into an eternal fire. It doesn’t matter that you bear a title of a missionary or a pastor, it doesn’t matter if you bear a kind heart, it doesn’t matter if all you do your whole life is donate to charity, no, it’s about much more than that. It’s about bearing the fruit of the Spirit! Galatians 5:22-23 says:

“22. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

We aren’t perfect, but we must strive for perfection always. thats what the Word of God says in Philippians 3:12. I pray that God uses the words that He has put on my heart for today to bless you all and that they are used for His glory. May God continue to draw us nearer to him. I am glad that I have a hope in Him. May peace and love be with you all. Thank you for reading todays post.

 

Leave a Reply

