Humbleness: Knowing You’re In The Wrong

Hey y’all! I just wanted to let you know what’s been on my heart. So recently I’ve had a bunch of ups and downs with someone that I hold dearly to my heart. I have always wanted to be close to her and be friends with her so that we could help build each other up. At times I would try to get close to her and I’d feel her distance, other times she may have tried to be nicer and get closer to me and I might have been bogus to her. With all of this back and forth that I was pushing on her, she really built up walls towards me. I kept on trying to break these walls down by talking and being friendly and showing her that I care. But unfortunately, she had already categorized me with the rest of the people around her and I was in a place I really didn’t want to be in.

I really care about her because I know that she’s hurting and struggling in certain ways and I feel bad that I’ve pushed her away. I know that she really wants genuine friends and people she can trust, but it’s hard for her to be able to do that when all the people she trusts end up hurting her.

I didn’t want to be one of those people that hurt her anymore. So I took a step back and asked God for wisdom and help. Sure enough I prayed and fasted for her and the Lord revealed to me something that I had no idea was so crucial. Forgiveness from her. God showed me that I need to humble myself and truly let her know that I’ve seen my wrongs and mistakes and that I really care about her friendship. That I really want her best interest and that I will not do anything to hurt her.

Now I await the opportunity to arise so that I may be able to pull her aside and let her know the truth (the thing we all dread telling the most) and just letting her know what God placed on my heart about being wrong and pushing her away. 

What does this have to do with you? Well, we all have relationships with people that are more or less than developed and we’d like them to be better. However, we cannot move forward in a relationship with someone unless all the barriers are down. And yes, it’s true that you cannot break down all the barriers and the person needs to meet you half way, but you have to take that first step.

Humbleness is something that we as Christians need to have. If you read Philippians 2:3-4 it says:

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking into your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”

With this passage in mind, we need to see and realize that what we want, is less important than what the other person wants; if we are true Christians and believers in Christ that is. Humility. We need to be humble and put aside what we want from that person or relationship, and realize what they need and how God can work in the relationship to bring that person up from the lower place they find themselves in.

We are all supposed to be uplifting and beneficial to each other. How can we be that if all we want is to make that person ours, if we want to just tend to our desires? We can’t. Let’s ask God to help us lay down our desires so that we can be the men and women God calls us to be in each and every aspect of our lives, especially our friendships and relationships with others!

Thanks for reading. Have blessed day!

One thought on “Humbleness: Knowing You’re In The Wrong

  1. Pingback: Liberty | roymartinministries

Leave a Reply

