Words of Wisdom from Proverbs

These past months I’ve been seeking God. But the problem in my life didn’t come from seeking Him, it came from seeking Him in the wrong ways. I constantly kept trying to bargain with God and make Him give me the things I desired and I kept trying to convince Him (the one who already knows everything) and myself that I was ready for these things and that I had pure motives. Maybe through all this I did have pure motives, but honestly, God knows me (and you) better than we know ourselves, because He can see the past, present, and future, as clear as crystal. I cannot tell you enough how small and puny and unworthy of a human I am. But I thank God that He finds a way to open my eyes to many things in my life, sometimes a little too late (not in the sense that His timing was off, but in the sense that He let me go through something that I created for myself a little too long). I thank God that although so many times I felt as if He wasn’t watching, not caring, and just letting me fail, fall, and get hurt, He was actually right there and I was just stepping on Him.

Anyways, recently I have been reading from Proverbs because I have seen the need and importance for wisdom and Proverbs is the gem of wisdom! Today I read a few Proverbs but for me, chapter 16 verses 1-4 really stuck out to me and got me because of where I find myself in life. It says:

“To humans belong the plans of the heart,
but from the Lord comes the proper answer of the tongue.

2 All a person’s ways seem pure to them,
but motives are weighed by the Lord.

3 Commit to the Lord whatever you do,
and he will establish your plans.

4 The Lord works out everything to its proper end—
even the wicked for a day of disaster.”

A very true to life passage. Like verse 1 says, we humans always have plans, but God’s is the best and He leads the way with his. We always have plans to do something or become someone in a certain field or the possibilities are endless. But to know that God has the final say and ultimate call, for me at least is comforting.

In verse 2 it tells us that many times we think we are doing something or want something out of “pure” motives, but remember we are sinful humans and to us what might seem pure, is rather dirty before God. We need to realize that God judges our motives and only He can say whether they are pure or not. But in order to know what he thinks about them, we must seek His face.

In verse 3 scripture tells us, to commit to the Lord in anything we do and He will make out our plans. This verse ties in really wonderfully with my favorite verse Matthew 6:33. We need to understand that if we seek God and devote ourselves to Him, He will straighten out our paths for us and lead us.

Verse 4 tells us that God will make everything work out in its own time. With this being said, I will repeat myself and say, that it is extremely comforting knowing that the Lord holds my life and the plans for my life in his hands, and that no matter what I may do, He will still work everything out for me for His Glory.

I don’t know where you all stand or what you are struggling with, but if any of you have been struggling as much as I have been these past couple months, than my prayers really go out to you and I really  hope that you seek God to a whole new level of “a lot”. I really hope this devotional touched you in any way and really pray for God to continue to change my heart as well as yours and to mold us into the men and women He wants us to be in His army. Remember that although God is love and peace and comfort and joy and He brings those things, there is also an enemy who hates us, our Lord, and His work, and will do anything to stop us. Remember that although God wants our lives to be happy, the devil fights against us and tries to show us how weak we are and how dirty we are and tries to drag us into his hell hole. This fight isn’t easy at all and thats the main thing you need to remember about this. You will try to  follow God in all your ways, but you will fall along the way. Just remember to pick yourself up and follow the Lord and ask Him to continue to bring you down His road and will no matter the circumstances.

Thanks for reading the post today and God bless you. If you need someone to talk to, cry to, or even relate to, hit me up at 847 322 0518 or email me at jasondumitru@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

