Pure Hearts

Today I feel the need to tackle an important matter in the Christian community. Many people will say that secular (non-Christian) music is a sin to listen to. Many people say that even certain Christian music is a sin to listen to. For example Christian Rock or Christian Hip-Hop. Here is the truth that I see. In Titus 1:15 it says:

“Everything is pure to those whose hearts are pure. But nothing is pure to those who are corrupt and unbelieving, because their minds and consciences are defiled.”

With this passage in mind, think about what it says. Everything and nothing, those are two very strong words, and Paul uses them. He says everything is pure to those whose hearts are pure, not “some things” or “a few things”, but everything. He says nothing is pure to those who are corrupt and unbelieving, not “some things” not “a few things”, but nothing. This means we can apply this passage to the music we listen to.

Is your heart pure or is it defiled? That is a question you must answer before you start making statements about certain things like music. If my heart is pure and I am listening to some music just because, what’s the problem with that? I can see if your heart isn’t where God wants it to be, if your heart isn’t pure, you can easily be tempted and who knows what else can come out of it.

However, just because you may not want to listen to a certain kind of music because you may believe it’s a sin for you, than don’t do it. But DO NOT try to convince your brother to stop what he is doing because you don’t do it, because although it can be a sin for you, it doesn’t mean that it’s a sin for him. For those who don’t know, a sin is action out of character, when you don’t act in the character that you are supposed to be in. 

Many don’t understand this idea and fail each other with words and actions because of incorrect ideas built into their heads by society. I love listening to Christian “rock” as some may call it. I call it worship music because that is what I am doing whenever I listen to it. Also sometimes I am just driving and want to listen to some secular music like OneRepublic. If I listen to it, I know for a fact I am not sinning because I know where my heart is, I know the message the music is bringing forth, and I know there is no negative side-effect. However if we were to talk about Drake, Lil-Wayne, certain genres where all they talk about is drugs, women, sex, lying, killing, stealing, and other sins that are not to be committed, that is a different story. That’s when music becomes a sin, because you are listening to absolute garbage and rubbish.

Let’s pray that we may have our hearts transformed into a pure heavenly thing. That we may not be so quick to judge certain actions and things in society, but that we can pray about it and see what the Lord shows us about them anyways.

Praise the Lord today! Glorify Him in all you do. Pick up your cross and serve Him with your words, actions, thoughts, and everything in between and afar.

Thank you for reading todays post. If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or just need someone to talk to, I am willing to listen. Email me at jasondumitru@gmail.com or call me or text me at 847 322 0518. Again, thanks and God bless!

Day 101

P.S. Shout out to my little brother. Happy Birthday Mikey!

Leave a Reply

