Fleeing From Sin

I’ve been reading from the Old Testament a lot recently, but God put on my heart Genesis 39 again, but for other reasons. The first time it was to show me that with God on our side, nothing is impossible and that we should strive to be faithful to God so we can stand out and be set apart. This time it was to show me how to handle sin. In verse 9b  we see what Joseph says to Potiphar’s wife as she was trying to get him to sleep with her.

“How could I ever do such a wicked thing? It would be a great sin against my God.”

and in verse 12 when sin grabbed him, we see his right and perfect reaction.

“She came and grabbed his shirt, demanding, “Sleep with me!” Joseph tore himself away, but as he did, his shirt came off. She was left holding it as he ran from the house.

This passage showed me that when sin comes, I have to ask myself, “How can I ever do such a wicked thing? It would be a great sin against my God” just as Joseph did. Then if sin jumps into our hands, drop it and RUN the opposite way! Joseph actually couldn’t have handled this horrible situation any better. He was faithful to God and obeyed God, not his carnal instincts.

Let’s be like Joseph in such a way that we run away from sin and try our best to not disrespect our God. AMEN! 🙂 ❤

God bless you and thank you for taking your time to read this post. Questions, comments, concerns? Email me or contact me on my phone at jasondumitru@gmail.com or 847-322-0518. 

Day 60

2 thoughts on “Fleeing From Sin

Leave a Reply

