When Doing God’s Work: Food For Thought – Daily Devotional Day 56

Today I read a very profound verse, 1 Corinthians 7:30

“Happiness or sadness or wealth should not keep anyone from doing God’s Work.”

Basically with this passage God confirmed something the Holy Spirit put on my heart some number of weeks ago. Long story short, a few weeks ago, I was really struggling with keeping myself on track with the will of God. I really was just feeling gray all the time. I was not in the position God wanted me to be in. At that time I was debating if I should even write and post on my blog since anyways I was going through some stuff and I didn’t want myself to be a hypocrite. Soon after those thoughts, I went back on my knees and prayed that He might help me with this situation I was in and to continue guiding me if He still wants me to do His will. I ended up realizing through the Spirit that this blog is a promise I made to the Lord about keeping up with; not a promise for people. I then still struggled with my gray days and battle with my emotions. They were still controlling a great amount of my thoughts, but that didn’t stop me from reading the Bible, sharing the Gospel, and sure enough posting on my blog. God showed me that I wasn’t doing it based on the thoughts of people, so it shouldn’t matter anyways, only what He thinks should be my concern. I pressed on because I made a promise to God to do His work and His will while I am able. 

Today I am overjoyed and excited because I found the passage that totally just canceled my previous evil thoughts such as “Well, how am I going to be an example for these people if I can’t even help myself?”. I am glad that there is a passage that tells us that our work accomplishment shouldn’t be based on emotions or thoughts or anything from this earth. Praise God that we have a Lord who is Greater than all we go through!

With this in mind, let’s not ever think “Oh well, I can’t go to church today because I sinned.” or “I can’t do this for God because I’m going to lose some money.” or “I don’t think this is the right thing to do because I’m not sure how I feel about this.” Well, guess what people! It’s not at all about us. If there is something we should do, let’s do it and not allow any emotions or earthly things to block us or prevent us from accomplishing what we must get done! Amen!

God bless you all and have a great day! Bring Him glory in your schools, workplaces, and  anywhere else you may find yourself in! 

Questions, comments, concerns? jasondumitru@gmail.com or 847-322-0518. 🙂

Leave a Reply

