Make Me Like David?: Food For Thought – Daily Devotional Day 50

Today God put on my heart the first part of Psalm 69:9, which says “Passion for your house burns within me.” This verse is so beautiful and convicting for me at least. I wanted to share this with you to see if maybe it would work in the same way for you as it did for me. I really stepped back and examined my going-to-churchness. I have gone to church, not to go to meet with my creator, but because it was already routine for me and because I sort of had to. But recently I’ve been in love with church and truly desire it more and more. I read this verse and I really thought to myself, “How many people feel how I felt about church before?”, “How many people go just to go?”. Well unfortunately a lot of people go to church really rarely and most times out of routine or because they feel that they are being forced. I just wanted to let you guys know that we need to be more as David was, more in love with going to church and meeting with our God, father, and our creator! We should want to go and listen to those sermons, because nearly all of them are great messages that the Lord wants to speak to us. How can we hear what God wants for us to hear if we don’t listen? We cannot listen if we don’t go, and there’s no point to go if you’re just going to go; at that point, you’re going in vain. 

I encourage you today to join me in prayer for a heart that ‘burns with passion’ for the house of the Lord! Let’s pray to be more like David in that sense. Let’s pray that whenever we go, we may not go in vain to just sing or play and instrument for the congregation or to fabricate something that’s not really there. Let’s pray for a passion for church!

Leave a Reply

